Judges 2010

The Panel of Judges for the 2010 National Online Recruitment Awards has now been finalised. As usual they will, of course, have extensive experience of the current online recruitment sector. They are selected on the basis of this knowledge, and have no vested interested in the nominated websites. A separate consulting panel of industry experts are involved in producing the shortlist of Finalist sites, from the thousands of nominations we receive via NORAuk.com.

The Judging Panel

STEPHEN O’DONNELL FIRP (Fellow of the Institute of Recruitment Professionals)

Founder of AlljobsUK.com, and the National Online Recruitment Awards. Stephen has been a professional recruiter for the last 23 years, and has owned and run successful recruitment companies since 1993.

Stephen O’Donnell is Chairman of the Judging Panel.




Louise Triance has a background in recruiting and the internet. She is founder and director of UKRecruiter.co.uk which, via its web site and newsletter, provides comprehensive and independent information to the recruitment industry.  Louise has been involved with the NORAs since the beginning, and is the Vice-Chair of our Judging Panel.



Dan McGuire, Managing Director, Broadbean Technology. Dan heads up Broadbean Technology, Europe’s largest multiple job posting and applicant source tracking company which distributes in excess of 1,500,000 online job adverts every month to more than 600 job boards across the globe. Dan has been involved in the recruitment industry for over 12 years.




Helen Reynolds is CEO of HB RIDA (www.hbrida.com). HB RIDA is a joint initiative between Hamilton Bradshaw Private Equity (James Caan) and The Recruitment Industry Development Agency (www.rida.uk.com).




Matt Alder is the founder of strategic consultancy MetaShift and has spent the last twelve years working within the Internet space. He became involved in online recruitment eleven years ago, spending seven years as Head of Interactive Media with TMP Worldwide followed by four years as Head of Digital at Penna Barkers.


sky thefirm

Emma Mirrington has over 12 years resourcing experience encompassing in-house and agency recruitment as well as RPO – most recently she spent five years at Unilever as their European Talent Manager prior to moving to Sky where she is currently their Talent Attraction Manager.  Emma is also Co-Manager of The FIRM (The Forum for In-house Recruitment Managers) a network of over 2,500 in-house recruiters.


Bill Boorman is the co – founder of #TruEvents. Unconferences globally in and around Recruiting & HR.Recruiter Trainer. Key-Note Speaker.  Formerly Director of Training with Primetime Recruitment, Bill has been at the forefront of the charge to shape Social Media Recruitment in the UK.


Luke McKend is currently Industry Head, Recruitment and Classifieds, with Google.  Luke has extensive experience in the recruitment and technologies sectors since 2000.


Siân has been the editor of the prestigious and definitive HR Magazine since 2006.  In that time, Siân has won HR Journalist of the Year, 2010 Finalist for Editor of the Year, and HR Magazine was acclaimed HR Publication of the Year for 2010.
Shortlisting Panel

In advance of the judging stage, we have a Selection Panel of industry experts, who will assess all websites nominated by jobseekers, and produce our shortlist of Finalists.  To ensure transparency in the awards process, this group are quite separate from our Judging Panel, but just as vital to the NORAs.

Alan Whitford

Keith Robinson

Peter Gold

Alex Hens

Andy Headworth

Steve Evans

Ben Nunn

Lisa Scales

The criteria to be used in judging will include:

1. Ease of use, design, layout & speed.

2. Volume of available vacancies.

3. Volume of claimed visitors, where applicable.

4. Available facilities for jobseekers. This will include the availability of mobile websites and applications, and integration with social media channels.

5. Prominence in targeted market.

Sites will be judged from the point of view of a jobseeker, and what benefits candidates best.

Shortlisted sites are entitled to display this logo on their site and literature.


The winners in each category are entitled to display this logo on their site and literature.

NoraAJ2010Gwinner200x104 width=

Click here for awards graphics and logos